Who Are The Governors?

Governors are like a Board of Directors and make decisions about how the school is run. They meet at least once a term at school.

Governors are appointed to help:

  • Decide what is taught.

  • Set standards of behaviour.

  • Interview and select staff.

  • Decide how the school budget is spent.

School Governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities. They can only act together, they cannot act individually.

School Governors are one or more of the following:

  • Parents.

  • Teachers at the school.

  • Local council representatives.

  • Community representatives.

  • Businessmen and women.

Parent Governors:

  • Have a child in school.

  • Are elected by parents of the school.

  • Serve, as do other Governors, for 4 years.

Why are parents on the Governing Body?

Parent Governors bring the views of parents to the Governing Body, but they speak and act as individuals. They should not be thought of as delegates, or "mouthpieces" of the parents. They have equal status in the work of the Governing Body and have voting rights. The minutes of the Governors meetings are in the school office for anyone to read.

Chair of Governors:  Ruth Smith

Headteacher:  Ben Cox

Staff Governor:  Heather Austin

LA Governor:  Vacant

Parent Governors:  Ruth Smith,Mark Ireland, Alison Wheatley, Michelle McKay 

You as a parent elect 4 Parent Governors for a 4 year period.

Co-opted Governors:  Gemma Reynolds, Caroline Lambert, Sally Goodwin, Janet Griffiths & Ian Raisbeck

Associate Governors:  Matt Griffiths (Deputy) & Charlotte Clark (SBM)

Chair of Finance Committee: Ruth Smith

Chair of Leadership & Management Committee: Caroline Lambert

Chair of Teaching & Learning Committee: Ian Raisbeck

For further information regarding governors' terms of office and responsibilities, please see Governor Information download.

To contact our governors please write a letter to the school marked 'FAO The Governing Body' and this will be forwarded to them as soon as possible.

Files to Download

Dingle Primary School

Headteacher: Mr B Cox

The Dingle, Haslington, Cheshire, CW1 5SD

Main Contact: Miss Charlotte Clark - School Business Manager

Tel: 01270 918988